New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Mac Pro - 9800 gtx+ on a Mac Pro, possible?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

RhanJones

RhanJones is on a distinguished road

Hello all, first things first, yes, i'm a newbie, yes, i've registered because i'm going INSANE , and yes, i've searched all over the internet, but haven't had good questions, so here goes !

I have a Mac Pro, 2008 version, and i have a graphics card, a xtx 9800 gtx+, i have bought some cables to give the gc the power it needs, so that's not the problem. However , when i boot up the mac, it doesn't show anything on the display. This is when put in the first pci-e16x port. Same thing when put in the second pci-e16x.

My stock gc, ATI HD2600, does not display anything when put in the second pci-e16x, but that's another thing.

I did read something about using kexts for the 8800, on the 9800 gtx, but i haven't found too much info on that.

So, to conclude ;

Is it possible to use a 9800 gtx+ graphics card in a mac pro?

Thanks in advance!
QUOTE Thanks
harryb2448