Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   G5, 2nd monitor problem (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/149360-g5-2nd-monitor-problem.html)

pseradarian 04-19-2009 07:14 PM

G5, 2nd monitor problem
 
My machine is a dual 2 ghz G5 (circa June 2004). I have a 23 inch cinema display attached as my 2nd monitor.

When the 2nd monitor is plugged in (via dvi to adc adapter, A1006) the computer freezes within minutes.

When not, everything runs perfectly.

The 4 culprits I can imagine are:

1) The xtra strain on a faulty power power center
2) The monitor input is faulty
3) The A1006 adapter is pumping too much juice or doing something else.
4) The cinema display itself is faulty

There is also a correlation with heat, ex. problem is less pronounced in cooler temperatures.

Is this something anyone's heard about??
I seems so strange to me.

Thanks in advance!!

pigoo3 04-19-2009 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pseradarian (Post 835163)

The 4 culprits I can imagine are:

1) The xtra strain on a faulty power power center
2) The monitor input is faulty
3) The A1006 adapter is pumping too much juice or doing something else.
4) The cinema display itself is faulty

You missed an obvious possibility...the video card could be faulty as well (or at least faulty when trying to run 2 monitors).

- Nick

pseradarian 04-19-2009 09:28 PM

Nick,

That didn't occur to me, thanks.

Yet, do you think the video card would cause the computer to freeze?

Paul

pigoo3 04-19-2009 10:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pseradarian (Post 835204)
Nick,

That didn't occur to me, thanks.

Yet, do you think the video card would cause the computer to freeze?

Paul

Well...I can't say for sure. But when you plug in a 2nd monitor, and the Mac freezes up...assuming the monitor is fine...then the video card would be the next place to look.

I'm assuming that your G5 has 1 video card with two video ports on it.

If you had a 2nd video card you could test (by hooking up 2 monitors)...but I'm assuming you don't have a 2nd video card.

So you can either:

- work with just 1 monitor
- you could try going to the video card manufacturers website, and see if they have drivers that you could download & reinstall & see if that helps.
- try repairing "permissions". I do this first whenever I have a problem.
- get a 2nd video card...and hook your 2nd monitor up it (two video cards in your G5)
- buy another 2-port video card that hopefully works...and plug both monitors into it
- pay a computer tech. big bucks to figure out the problem

I hope this helps,

- Nick

pseradarian 04-19-2009 11:01 PM

thanks Nick, that's really helpful

...I'm off investigating the video card angle


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.