New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Power Mac - Power mac G4 going wireless

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Fireplug

Fireplug is on a distinguished road

I just bought a Power mac G4 (Tiger) and would like to connect it wireless to my airport extreme. I am new to the Mac world and need help finding the right wireless card, it is for my young daughter so it does not have to be top of the line. Price is important.

Thanks in advance for the help.
QUOTE Thanks
justin_clark93

justin_clark93 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Mini Core 2 Duo 1.83 ghz

hi,
just google "usb wireless adapters for mac" and see what comes up. i once saw one for 20 USD. u cannot put airport extreme in old macs like that. thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
Heathy

Heathy is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook 2.4ghz and Upgraded PowerMac G4 Graphite with 3 160gb hds, 1gb ram, wireless, superdrive

you could put a pci card in it. thats what i did and it worked wonders.
QUOTE Thanks
Fireplug

Fireplug is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heathy View Post
you could put a pci card in it. thats what i did and it worked wonders.
I think that is what I'll try. I found a D-Link WUA-1340 for $14.99.

Sabrent PCI-G802 PCI Wireless Card - 54Mbps, 802.11g, WindowsMacLinux Compatible at TigerDirect.com
QUOTE Thanks
mcjacksonnelson

mcjacksonnelson has a spectacular aura about