Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Overclocking (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/114590-overclocking.html)

jokeinjester06 07-05-2008 01:17 PM

Overclocking
 
Is there a way to overclock the Windows partition in Boot Camp? I've searched for awhile and can't find anything. I'm using a late 2006 iMac Intel Core 2 Duo 2Ghz with 3GB ram.

louishen 07-05-2008 01:31 PM

do you mean resize the partition

jokeinjester06 07-05-2008 01:32 PM

Sorry. I wasn't very clear. I want to overclock the graphics card.

louishen 07-05-2008 01:38 PM

I doubt if there are any jumpers you can fiddle with, but I don't know.

Last time I overclocked a mac was 1994, it involved some micro soldering and bumped my 25 mhz processor to a dizzying 33 Mhz

bryphotoguy 07-05-2008 01:39 PM

Doesn't sound like a good idea at all if possible.

Knale 07-05-2008 08:55 PM

I don't know if it is possible. Most video card overclocking is done through driver software these days. Not sure if there are Mac drivers capable of overclocking. If there were, I am not sure if an IMac would be a good canidate for overclocking. Generally when you overclock a graphics card, the GPU temps rise. The IMac does not look as if it has the best airflow to be able to cool those higher temps.

thansson 07-08-2008 06:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jokeinjester06 (Post 686490)
Is there a way to overclock the Windows partition in Boot Camp? I've searched for awhile and can't find anything. I'm using a late 2006 iMac Intel Core 2 Duo 2Ghz with 3GB ram.

Hi

I have overclocked all off my Mac computers.

Last the Mac mini from 1.33 to 1.67.

The only way to overclock an Intel-mac is cpu swap.

Tony

Cognitive AB, Stelvio Bokföring Lön Ekonomi för Macintosh
http://www.ct.se/

dave39 05-28-2009 08:39 AM

iMac 2007 CPU swap
 
can you swap the intel duocore 2 2.0Ghz CPU for a faster one? Is it a socketted one or soldered in making it not changeable.

Earlier intel macminis are capable of being upgraded with faster CPUs from Intel single core 1.5Ghz to a 2.33Ghz duo core 2 CPU, can it be done with a iMac?

Dave

robduncan 05-28-2009 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by louishen (Post 686506)

Last time I overclocked a mac was 1994, it involved some micro soldering and bumped my 25 mhz processor to a dizzying 33 Mhz

Those where the days! it's 33% all the same
ahh megahertz your so 90's

ErikJenkins1187 05-28-2009 11:04 AM

The older white core duo iMacs had a socketed CPU. I don't know about the Aluminum iMacs though.

verdejt 06-07-2009 03:17 AM

IMHO why bother. If you want to tinker with clock speeds and graphics for windows just buy a PC. I understand the need to have windows around as I myself have a couple of custom programs that will only run on windows. But really if you're interested in improving a Mac to run Windows just buy a PC.

CrimsonRequiem 06-07-2009 06:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ErikJenkins1187 (Post 851719)
The older white core duo iMacs had a socketed CPU. I don't know about the Aluminum iMacs though.

I think the newer iMacs are also socketed but there is a sticker attached saying if you remove warranty will be void.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.