New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Power Mac - G4 cube still feasible for today's ordinary tasks?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

davidmigl

davidmigl is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I'm a college student but don't really use a computer for very intensive tasks; what I need to do is type the occasional paper, browse the web, play streaming videos, do email, and run a proprietary remote desktop connection application. The g4 cube, aside from having a small footprint and attractive design, also has a great price ($150-200 on eBay) but I don't know if the processor would be fast enough. I already have all necessary peripherals - monitor, mouse, keyboard, 500GB external drive, etc...

I don't know how it would handle all the flash and video and mutimedia content that has come to dominate the web, nor do I know if it would get very bogged down running multiple firefox tabs (I am a "tabaholic" having 10-20 tabs open, not that I really need them but it's out of habit) as well as, say, running mail in the background/general 3-4 program multitasking. Maxing out the RAM would be a must.

So what do you think would a g4 cube be fast enough for today's basic tasks? Or should I look at a slightly faster machine like an older iMac or mini? (I am looking at older macs because I love the OS and general mac quality but don't really need a whole lot of power and think I can save money by not going overkill)