Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   Mini as Airport Base station? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/111041-mini-airport-base-station.html)

iscameron 06-06-2008 01:58 AM

Mini as Airport Base station?
 
Hey this is just a quick question about the mac mini

I was just considering buying a new airport to replace my microsoft base station. But what i just read about the mac mini is that it has an airport built in, now this may sound like a stupid question but there is nothing specifically saying it on the apple site.

Can I set up the mac mini as an airport base station for my wireless network?

mcjacksonnelson 06-06-2008 12:52 PM

i dont think you can, since the airport in the mac mini is a receiver, not a transmitter. but im sure i'll be proven wrong by some of he geniuses in here.

cuhnool 06-06-2008 12:56 PM

I wouldn't think so. You would need a router to provide an internet connection.

ardillo9344 06-07-2008 08:34 PM

Yes, actually this is possible. But the mini has to always be on...
Plug in your ethernet cable from the modem and go into System Preferences>Sharing>Internet Sharing. Pick share through AirPort and turn it on. It will give you some kind of warning, just click OK.

bryphotoguy 06-07-2008 08:39 PM

Yup, you can get the mini to transmit a wireless signal and do as ardillo9344 said. Of course, it will only work when the mini is on. :)

mac57 06-08-2008 03:33 PM

Is this unique to the mini, or can all Airport equipped Macs do this?

bryphotoguy 06-08-2008 03:36 PM

All Mac with a AirPort card can using Tiger or Leopard. I don't know Panther well enough to know if it also has the internet sharing/ broadcast preference.
I used to do it on my original Core Duo iMac. I would hook up the iPhone and other little things to it without a problem.

iscameron 06-09-2008 06:56 AM

Thanks for the replies guys, it seems like I should be able to set it up, the only concern in the other forum I posted on is the range of the signal.

But I got my answer, Thanks :)

mcjacksonnelson 06-09-2008 11:40 AM

thats awesome. good to know.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.