Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   2.3Ghz weird power cable port.. PICS (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/110601-2-3ghz-weird-power-cable-port-pics.html)

ktreece777 06-02-2008 06:00 PM

2.3Ghz weird power cable port.. PICS
 
I acquired a supposedly non working Power Mac 2.3Ghz. Well, I don't have a cable to plug up to it because of its weird shape. Check pics below. Where can I get this cable at? I searched ebay I couldn't find anything.


Also, how do I tell if it internally has an Airport Card?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...IMG_0400-1.jpg

hughvane 06-02-2008 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ktreece777 (Post 666558)
its weird shape. Check pics below. Where can I get this cable at? I searched ebay I couldn't find anything.

http://www.kropla.com/electric.htm but I don't see any of that three flat pins variety there. Have any of the pins on your machine been twisted? Your local home appliance/electronics outlet may have an adaptor.

(Second question I'll leave to someone else.)

ktreece777 06-02-2008 07:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hughvane (Post 666607)
http://www.kropla.com/electric.htm but I don't see any of that three flat pins variety there. Have any of the pins on your machine been twisted? Your local home appliance/electronics outlet may have an adaptor.

(Second question I'll leave to someone else.)

No, this is how it came I can definitely tell it hasn't been twisted.

bryphotoguy 06-02-2008 07:56 PM

It's a pretty standard connection in the photo industry.

Power Cord

Noels 06-02-2008 07:58 PM

ktreece777,

Where did you get it? Can you contact the source and ask about it and BTW, where did you put the cable?

A computer tech shop (or Apple store) may be able to open it up, remove the cable housing and attach the wires to a U.S. Standard connector.

Good luck on finding the proper connector first.

Noel

EDIT, whoops, bry beat me to it, and had a better answer besides :)

ktreece777 06-02-2008 08:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Noels (Post 666650)
ktreece777,

Where did you get it? Can you contact the source and ask about it and BTW, where did you put the cable?

A computer tech shop (or Apple store) may be able to open it up, remove the cable housing and attach the wires to a U.S. Standard connector.

Good luck on finding the proper connector first.

Noel

EDIT, whoops, bry beat me to it, and had a better answer besides :)


It is an office machine of my dads partner that he thought he would take everything out "so nobody could get his stuff" I have no clue if anything is wrong with it at all but he took the hard drive, ram, video card, and thats all that I know of so far.... Oh, the power cord.

harryb2448 06-02-2008 08:08 PM

It is a 'G' type plug used in various countries including China, the Middle East and a number of South American countries.

hughvane 06-05-2008 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by harryb2448 (Post 666656)
It is a 'G' type plug used in various countries including China, the Middle East and a number of South American countries.

A G plug has one of the pins at right angles to the other two. The odd plug pictured has the pins arrayed in the same (horizontal) plane.

If the machine were mine I'd remove the plug housing, checking wire connections carefully, and replace the whole thing with a standard plug for your country. An electrician could do the job in 5 minutes if you had the required replacement part available.

ktreece777 06-05-2008 04:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hughvane (Post 668714)
A G plug has one of the pins at right angles to the other two. The odd plug pictured has the pins arrayed in the same (horizontal) plane.

If the machine were mine I'd remove the plug housing, checking wire connections carefully, and replace the whole thing with a standard plug for your country. An electrician could do the job in 5 minutes if you had the required replacement part available.

It is stock you can tell. On ebay I noticed the computer exactly llike it has the same plug. It is the last Model Before the MacPro but why on earth is it so hard to find a power cable.

05GT 06-05-2008 05:01 PM

That looks similar to the power connector in Bahrain... I'm not 100% sure though.

rman 06-05-2008 05:50 PM

If there is an Apple store near you, take it in and have it checked out. You will not get the system up and running even if you have a power cord. Since you still need memory, a video card and a hard disk. You can get most of these things from Other World Computing.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.