Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   IS 1.6GHz going to enough? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/11048-1-6ghz-going-enough.html)

ajresovsky 11-19-2004 06:17 PM

IS 1.6GHz going to enough?
 
I dunno Mac really good yet, and I hope I wasn't impatient and got something
to weak, but will 1.6GHz be enough for PScs and maybe a few game and music? :biohazard

shaun89 11-19-2004 06:21 PM

What do you mean by PScs?? The games will run fine, and music will be no problem, evne when using multiple programs. One question, why do you want the 1.6 when you have a 2GHz G5??

trpnmonkey41 11-19-2004 06:26 PM

PScs is Photoshop CS

Macman 11-19-2004 06:58 PM

photoshop should run fine.

ApplejustWorks 11-19-2004 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shaun89
What do you mean by PScs?? The games will run fine, and music will be no problem, evne when using multiple programs. One question, why do you want the 1.6 when you have a 2GHz G5??


Where do you see anything about a 2?

shaun89 11-20-2004 12:39 AM

When i posted, his specs said 2GHz G5...... unless i was seeing things.... :o

hype.it 11-20-2004 01:01 AM

Well... I have a point to make.

Unless your gonna be doing something processor intensive and a daily basis, there's little use to own a really high spec machine. For example, if your using a system to surf the net and send emails, then a 2Ghz system is an OVERKILL. For domestic home use, a 1.6 is plenty. Unless your thinking about accessing the latest games, in which case i'd go for 1.8 or maybe a 2.0. and expand the ram to 1 or 1.5Gb RAM tops!

Yeah I have a powerful system, i use it for work, 3D animation and stuff. Where i buy my ram; in China it's dirt cheap. From the monitor, I seldom exceed 3Gb never mined 4Gb... and the other 4Gb... it keeps dust out of the sockets! :D

Texasmeat 11-22-2004 05:12 PM

........
 
Did someone say cheap ram?? I need some more ram for my Quicksilver 733. I am looking to get another 512 stick pc133 sdram. What are their prices like in China?

Macman 11-22-2004 05:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texasmeat
Did someone say cheap ram?? I need some more ram for my Quicksilver 733. I am looking to get another 512 stick pc133 sdram. What are their prices like in China?

china? go with owc, $100 for a 512 mb stick, here:http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgr...=Show+Upgrades


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.