Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Desktops (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/)
-   -   iMac installing own RAM (new to Mac) (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/109429-imac-installing-own-ram-new-mac.html)

C_Andrews 05-23-2008 11:41 AM

iMac installing own RAM (new to Mac)
 
Hi, I am looking into buying an iMac and just wanted to know if you could install your own ram into it ?

Chilbear 05-23-2008 11:47 AM

Yes it is way too easy. Childs play - one Phillips screw is all there is to take out and put back in. After you figure it out, you will be able to do it in less than one minute. Push firm when seating the chip is the common message .

Here is the link
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303084

sanity1082 05-23-2008 12:47 PM

i would encourage you to put your own ram in as apple over charges for it.

most people use owc or crucial.

the8thark 05-23-2008 01:53 PM

I 2nd all the above and also recommend "Kingston" ram.

schweb 05-23-2008 02:13 PM

I normally use Crucial.

Crucial btw is one of our advertisers so feel free to click through if you decide to go with them.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.