View Single Post
the8thark

 
Member Since: Jan 27, 2007
Location: *Brisvegas*
Posts: 5,658
the8thark is a name known to allthe8thark is a name known to allthe8thark is a name known to allthe8thark is a name known to allthe8thark is a name known to allthe8thark is a name known to allthe8thark is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3

the8thark is offline
Actually when you choose to upgrade you have 3 options:

1. Upgrade to leopard and leave all your files and settings just as they are

2. Upgrade to leopard and do a clean install. Just like the factory settings. But with one difference. All your old files will be put in a folder so it's like a clean install but you don't really loose any files. And this one is called "Archive and install" I believe.

3. Clean install. As above but everything is set back to the factory standard leopard. Your old settings and files are gone.

All you need to do when you upgrade is pick the one you want and it'll basically install itself.

You should back up everything if you choose option 3. But I think option 2 is a good way to do it as you don't need a back up then. But as you know Hard drives can fail and things can go wrong. I know really rare for a mac but still better safe then sorry.

[edit]Kash just beat me to posting. And read his link too. It has great info there.
QUOTE Thanks