View Single Post
adrianzag

 
Member Since: Nov 25, 2009
Posts: 12
adrianzag has a little shameless behaviour in the past

adrianzag is offline
Hi there.

I've been running a trusted and well-loved MBP since 2007, on OSX 4.11. System details are further below.

Yesterday I took the momentous decision to upgrade to Snow Leopard using the DVD.
I did tons of research beforehand, and was set to:

1) Clone my Mac HD to a clean external HD, which I have done

2) Install the Snow Leopard DVD

3) Perform a 'clean install' by clicking on Utility button during the installation process, and choosing the options to erase the Mac drive and the install over the zeroed drive.

Imposrt my apps and data from the cloned drive when prompted.


Trouble is - I think I may have made a few mistakes?

First, I didn't begin the process by restarting the system (and while the restart was happenin put the Snow Leopard DVD in). I remember I just put the DVD in after the machine had been running for about 30 minutes. I had closed all apps though.

2) When the 'OSX' page came up on screen, I chose English as the default language. So far so good.

But I couldn't see any options for 'Utilities' !

So, I eneded up clicking what seemed to be the only option, which was 'Install Snow Loepard'.


This I did. within 40 minutes the new SNow Leopard welcome screen was up there, and everything working shipshape so far.

Even Word Office 04 is working because I clicked on 'install Rosetta' as advised.

My questions are:

A) Because technically I didn't ensure a clean install on the formatted and erased Mac internal drive, the Snow Leopard has overwritten my old 4.11 Tiger.

But will this now have negative consequences?


and

B) If the answer to A) is yes - that I will start to have problems - can I still perform ANOTHER Snow Leopard installation from the DVD, but this time making sure I get to the all important Utilties options, thus getting the installation done correctly?


and finally


C) If I carry on with my system the way it is, (so far it's behaving itself) - obviously as I go along and upgrade my apps and preferences to accommodate the new Snow Leopard OS, will I only be ensuring that B) will not be possible in future - in other words, can you only install a Snow Leopard upgrade on an earlier OS, and not over itself??

Any answers and advice is really appreciate.

Thanks!



Adrian

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro2,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.33 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP21.00A5.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.14f5
Serial Number (system): W870804XW0M
Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-0017F2D423B8
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled
QUOTE Thanks