View Single Post
sbjoecool

 
Member Since: Dec 01, 2011
Posts: 1
sbjoecool is on a distinguished road

sbjoecool is offline
Hello,

I looked for this answer on MAC fourms and all I find as a solution is to prevent .DS_Stores from being made and to delete any existing .DS_Stores.

I have done this by doing the following and I am still having issues with rights and permissions

defaults write com.apple.desktopservices
DSDontWriteNetworkStores true

So here is my issue.
If a file is on the network (Windows 2003 Server) with rights

Group A: Full Access
Everyone :Read

Then that file is copied to the MAC the permissions change to

USER: Read and Write
Everyone: No Access

If this file is copied back to the folder the rights remain with the User having Read and Write and Everyone having no access.
Another issue is this is not the same for all users using a MAC and for all Files. This happens to Random users on Random Files. Is there any way to fix this?
QUOTE Thanks