Can't Connect to Internet

Reaction score
I'm new to the Mac World.
I got a Macbook Pro and I'm having issues with internet connection.

I have set up the networks at pretty much all the locations I visit frequently. My Macbook shows the Networks under the Airport Icon. I have all the passwords saved on these networks as to automatically connect.

My problem is that why is it that at times I can not connect. Sometimes I can and sometimes I can't. When I can't, I would have to shut down and re-boot and that works sometimes. Other times it doesn't and I just wait to try it again later.

For instance... this happens at my home. I know it's not the internet connection because I have my other computer connected via ethernet and it works. I also have my xp laptop and it works wireless. It's just this Macbook Pro.

Any Suggestions?????

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G3, 500MHz, CD-ROM, 12"
I have had a problem similar to this with my iPod touch, where if yells at me and says i cant connect....Are you sure you have a strong signal? That's the only solution I can think of.

OP
M
Reaction score
My signal has full bars. I know that's not an issue.

What I noticed is that when I went to Network Settings... I saw that the AirPort light was green and said "Self-Assigned IP" underneath it.

Then on the "Status" it said it was "On" and underneath that, it said this:
"AirPort has a self-assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the internet."

I'm not sure how or why this happens.

Can anyone explain and give me a fix for this?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
My signal has full bars. I know that's not an issue.

What I noticed is that when I went to Network Settings... I saw that the AirPort light was green and said "Self-Assigned IP" underneath it.

Then on the "Status" it said it was "On" and underneath that, it said this:
"AirPort has a self-assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the internet."

I'm not sure how or why this happens.