New to Mac- Networking problems

Net

Reaction score
Hi
I am new to mac.

I am having some trouble connecting to the internet using a wireless router. The mac connects to the router no problem but then does not seem to connect to the internet.

When I connect physically via an ethernet, it connects to the internet. But not via the wireless. PCs seem to connect fine.

I have no idea what can cause this. Any ideas?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Hi
I am new to mac.

I am having some trouble connecting to the internet using a wireless router. The mac connects to the router no problem but then does not seem to connect to the internet.

When I connect physically via an ethernet, it connects to the internet. But not via the wireless. PCs seem to connect fine.

I have no idea what can cause this. Any ideas?

Sounds like a problem with your wireless security settings and/or MAC filtering. Tell us a little more about your wireless router (make/model) and how it's configured.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro
I am having the same problem at the moment and it's been driving me nuts all weekend. Thing is it all worked fine for six months.
Mac Book Pro
d-link DIR-635 router
FWA [Fixed Wireless Access]
What seems odd is that I can get my son's desktop [PC running Vista] to access the internet via WIFI but if I try to join via Airport it knocks his out.
I've tried resetting the router.
I've also tried my internet company - who did say there was a fault on Friday night [Was very windy] but all works via ethernet. [Although I still think there are anomalies.
There is a possibility it's the MBP as I did a software update on Friday night [Running leopard]
But I guess I'll find that out as I'm away on business for the coming week.

Any ideas?

BTW I have tried the router on various security settings including the very basic defaults. However when all was working fine it was on WPA 2

cwa107

Retired Staff