A year ago, I bought a MacBook...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Just before Christmas last year, I bought a MacBook. It's not cheap here in the UK, but I wanted a laptop, and didn't want Vista as my desktop. I already have an aging 700MHz Celeron system I converted to Ubuntu a while ago, so the Intel based MacBook seemed an interesting choice.

I've never used a Mac before in any great depth, what I found is a desktop that Linux is missing and a fast elegant machine. Installing applications by drag and drop reminded me of my Acorn Archimedes with RiscOS.

The downside of the Mac has been the finder. I'm constantly finding things that annoy or just seem plain dumb with Finder. Attach a network drive, it appears on the desktop but you have to go there - I was expecting to be taken there immediately I connected but had to figure that one out. Opening files sometimes catches me out - Finder seems to lose context where you are buried deep in a directory, and there are no quick routes back, until I added them myself.

Enough of the rant about Finder.

My main interest in the Mac is to write applications for it. So I had a look at Xcode. <Shudder>. One rant about Xcode - talk about option overload! Takes me a while to remember where everything is... second rant is about documentation, more about Apple's documentation than Xcode.

I've settled on wxWidgets for my cross platform development needs, and use something called DialogBlocks. It works on Windows, Mac and Linux (not tried it on Linux yet).

So far what I've written uses wxWidgets and stays away from platform specific bits, though I made use of a few cross platform libraries - tinyxml, portmidi and lua.