Recording Guitar

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
Ive got a macbook pro on the way, im looking to record some guitar, im new to apple so could you guys recco some software and hardware thats going to get me on the right track for decent recording.
USB/Firewire? I'll need line in for my electric and xlr to record acoustic/classical.
Thanks for your help in advance!

UPDATE: Ok guys so ive done a bit of digging around the forums, I think im going to go with the M-Audio Firewire Solo. Has anybody got this product? Can you confirm it works well with Garageband and/or logic?
Also is it firewire 400 or 800?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sooper Fast!
Also, unless you have a complete POS amp, you'll probably want to mic the cabinet. Using two condensors worked very nicely for me. I put one infront of the speaker cone and one several feet away. It gave it a nice thick sound with out sounding like you were trying to catch the reverb in a concert hall or anything like that.

You can pick up Audio Technica AT2020's for $100 each. Very good microphones for guitar and vocals.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
powermac g4
new to macs and want to record.
Need suggestions that won't break the bank. Have powermac g4 bought off craigslist. Guitar based tunes w/keys, lots of harmonies and x-tra percussion at times

Cam

Reaction score
Just keep it simple with an mbox and protools - it's pretty good value these days too

Reaction score
I recorded my guitars with protools with one mic directly in front of the speaker cone, and one beside it at a 45 degree angle pointing at the same speaker cone. A SM57 and a 421 are a good combination.

Reaction score
Just plug your guitar into the laptop

I plug my guitar into my powerbook by using a large->small jack plug. It works fine. If I pull the guitar cable out from the jack slightly I get 'stereo'.

I too am looking at recording guitar, and vocals into Garageband. What are the disadvantages to doing it this way than one of the interfaces?