external hard drive???

E

ether108

hello everyone, just got my eMac and before i started importing hundreds of audio cds onto the 80g hd i thought about the viability of using an external hard drive. i have little if any knowledge about the new ext. hds out there. so my question is;

could i get the audio data to the ext. hd exclusively, i mean without it dedicating it to memory on the internal hd?

and if so, is it even possible to get my iTunes to import/export the data to and from the external hd?

thanx.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
What you are looking to do is actually pretty easy since you have a firewire port. Here is a bit that may help

OP
E

ether108

thanx for the info, you're really on the ball, so if i get the ext. hd i would use the iTunes>file>import/export options to get the data to and from the ext. hd?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
This sounds right to me - I have not tried it. I think you would mount the ext drive so you can see it in the finder and then AFAIK just as you said seems right

OP
E

ether108

thanx again, i foresee an expensive test at hand, but hey someone has to do it, right? thank god for receipts/return policies....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.4Ghz Black 4GB;iPod Touch 8GB;iPod mini 4GB silver;Logitech MX1000;
I am using a USB hard drive only for my music, iTunes works without a flaw, to change iTunes to the hard drive.

step 1: copy iTunes folder from music and put it on the external drive
step 2: delete the itunes folder from internal
step 3: open iTunes(it will recreate the folder without the music)
step 3: press command + , (preferences) inside itunes
step 4: in advance change the itunes folder to the one on the external hard drive

it's done

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" Flat Panel iMac -15" 1.5GHz, 80GB HDD, 128MB ATI video card, 1GB RAM- PowerBook
I did exactly what The New Guy posted last week with my new Lacie 160GB ext HDD and it worked perfectly.