Darwin Crash

A

anarkhy 17

Sometimes when i open applications like garage band for ex. the screen freezes and some black text comes up in the upper left corner basicaly saying "darwin kernel has crashed" i am not an expert in the terminal or anything but is there a way to fix this or update the kernel??? This has been getting me frusterated :mad: ... Wait :eek: at least it isn't windows :rolleyes:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Any kernel update would be announced by Apple; it's open source BTW. Have you tried repair permissions and been running crons?

Reaction score
I'm slowly sinking in the posts of Mac-forums
Your Mac's Specs
PowerBook 12" Combo Drive/867 MHz/256 MB RAM/40 GB hard drive/Mac OS X 10.3.5/AirPort Extreme it sux
You must be running Mac OS X 10.1. You are expiriancing kernal panics. Run the Apple Hardware test CD, see if it finds anything.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
anarkhy 17 said:
whats crons?
use Mac Janitor, or: Finder, Applications. Utilities Terminal type (switching to root - superuser) sudo sh /etc/daily > this needs to be done /weekly (instead of daily) and monthly. again with all apps closed

OP
A

anarkhy 17

i use 10.2... anyways i don't remember making a root Pass in OS X and none of my admin user passes work. What do i do???

OP
A

anarkhy 17

i just installed macjanitor :)( because i am lazy and sadly because i am trapped in the world of the GUI :( [o well :rolleyes: ]) but i would still like to know what my root pass is :confused:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Well the admin password to your first user loggin name is tha same as the password you type when logging in. The root password doesn't exist until you enable the root user, then you will see a new user name on the loggin screen called other

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerBook 12" Combo Drive/867 MHz/256 MB RAM/40 GB hard drive/Mac OS X 10.3.5/AirPort Extreme it sux
OP
A

anarkhy 17