New to MAC sound chip question

Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently thinking of getting my first mac. I am totally lost on what to get yet (Macbook pro, mac pro or iMac). I will be using it for a family PC that will also hold music, familiy videos and photos, and play through a high quality surround audio system.

My question is:

I am trying to find what sort of audio chip MAC computers use, and what sort of audio cards are available to improve that, if needed. I have searched the web to see what MAC computers have in them in terms of audio hardware but all I get is info about the ports (which is the only info available on Apple's site too)

Reaction score
This is a good question. I'm in the same boat.

I'm a music producer who is also looking to switch to mac. And i have no idea what kind of options there are as far as soundcards for the mac. I have been
unsuccessful w/ my research on this so far.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
In short, there aren't any options for 'sound cards'.

The only model that would allow for any sort of additional internal card is the Mac Pro, which would be much more computer than one would need for some music or family photos/videos.

For music production, you will probably use more external mixers and equipment so again, the internal would almost be a moot issue. There are some third party cards that might work with a Mac Pro, but simply aren't really needed.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
The audio in the iMac is fine. You can hook it up for 5.1 with the Optical Digital out. Otherwise like DB stated, no audio upgrades possible except with the Mac Pro. For the OP, the iMac would be best for a family computer for all the uses you mentioned.

Reaction score
I just answered my own question when googling it up ha ha.

thanks for the help. Now i know i need an external sound card anyways.

Thanks again

OP
Y