router quandry

S

simianspaceman

I am setting up a small film edting workstation for my wrok in film school. I have botha PC (AMD 3000+, soyo dragon ultra motherboard) and a Mac (dual 1 ghz G4) I am looking to share data beteween the two machines, as well as share an internet connection. I have read the linksys specifications and they are not compatible with the mac os. Does anyone have any sugestions?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
You can use linksys routers.....i am on an airport connection through a linksys router and it works fine

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
Yep same with me, I have a linksys router and it works beautifully.. wait.. sorry no my linksys router is connected to my modem which is connected in the front room.. then in my home office room I have a netgear wirless router.. and it works beautifully :)

OP
E

ezinn

I'm new to macs in general, but familiar with PC's, I just sent a private message to Murlyn but will post this anyhow.
I just bought an Emac 1.25Ghz with 768 ram and Airport Extreme card. I plugged it in and everything works fine except I can't perform a software update, I get an error message "Software Update cannot connect to the update server" I can surf the web and send and receive email.

My PC is connected with a Netgear MR814V2 wireless router.
Apple has been unable to help.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" iBook G3 900/640/40 _ _ Power Macintosh G3 All-In-One 315/768/20 _ _ 20 GB iPod
ezinn said:
I'm new to macs in general, but familiar with PC's, I just sent a private message to Murlyn but will post this anyhow.
I just bought an Emac 1.25Ghz with 768 ram and Airport Extreme card. I plugged it in and everything works fine except I can't perform a software update, I get an error message "Software Update cannot connect to the update server" I can surf the web and send and receive email.