Updating the Graphics Card?

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a noob here. I didn't know where to post this topic, so I posted it here. Sorry if I was supposed to post this somewhere else. Also, I'm sorry if this has been posted before. I'm interested in getting a iMac 20", or a MacBook Pro. I was just wondering whether I can upgrade the graphics card myself. I would like a 512MB graphics card, but they only offer a 256MB. What kind of slot does it use, and can I use any old graphics card? I don't know much about computers, so please use simple language. It would be much appreciated. I plan to play some games on this, and I plan to keep this computer for a few years. In a few years, I'm not sure if 256MB will be enough memory for a graphics card, and many of the newer games have support for the Macintosh, and if not, I can always get Boot Camp or Parallel Desktop. I looked at the specs, and I couldn't find if it uses an x16 PCI slot (not sure if that's what I'm thinking. It's the slot that many newer graphics cards use if I'm correct.) I would really appreciate the help. Thanks :-D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Quad, 1GB RAM
the only computer you can upgrade the graphic card is the mac pro.

OP
T
Reaction score
thanks, that was the exact answer I needed :-D So, I'm basically screwed for the time being if I want to use this for games over a long period of time. I guess I'll have to either dish out for the Mac Pro, or wait for a graphics upgrade. Oh well, I might as well wait for Leopard.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Quad, 1GB RAM
if you plan on gaming, either get a pc and keep your mac for non-gaming or the lowest end mac pro will run around 2,200 dollars.

If you think about it a gaming pc will run about $800 - $1000. and then if you have an imac 20in thats another $1200. It will come out to be the same price as a mac pro and with the mac pro you will have quad core.

OP
T
Reaction score