View Full Version : Photoshop Elements and Intel

02-28-2007, 07:31 PM
I have currently been running Photoshop Elements v2.0 on my Intel iMac and it seems to perform normally. I am interested in upgrading to v4.0 and I would be interested in learning about other folks' experience with it. I have tried to determine from the Adobe web site what I might expect but the little information provided is rather inconclusive. The relevant Adobe forum hasn't helped either.
Incidentally, the link on the Adobe site to the "free tryout" download isn't working - which makes me wonder!

03-01-2007, 09:56 AM
I have heard that it works just fine, just slower than on a PPC Mac, since it is not a Universal Binary.

03-01-2007, 02:02 PM
I am running Elements 4.0 on my Intel MacPro without any problems. It runs much better than it did on my old XP box. The trial link for Macs hasn't been working for a while.


03-01-2007, 02:30 PM
Thanks for the responses - very helpful.

03-08-2007, 09:54 AM
When should we expect a Universal version of Elements to come out, since Photoshop CS3 is due out soon?

03-09-2007, 12:21 AM
When should we expect a Universal version of Elements to come out, since Photoshop CS3 is due out soon?

Adobe says they are working on the update but no official release date yet.

03-09-2007, 12:54 AM
Elemtns is on 5.02 for PC , so maybe soon ? 5 has been out since last year on PC....

03-09-2007, 09:04 AM
Photoshop Elements 4.0 for Mac came out almost 9 months after 4.0 for the PC. If this is any indication, we won't see 5.0 until May of this year or so, but I am not holding my breath.

03-09-2007, 09:52 AM
One thing to add - Adobe doesn't generally offer free upgrades within a certain timeframe of buying their products. So, if you buy 4.0 now and in a few months the Universal binary/5.0 version comes out, you will have to pay for the upgrade.

I've been using Photoshop Elements on my PC for quite a long time now and had intended to buy it for my Mac, but I'm going to wait for precisely that reason.

03-10-2007, 01:32 PM
I had been running Adobe elements on my Intel based I-Mac
A few weeks ago it stopped working...I tried to re-install and it said that classic mode was not supported...Can anyone help

Sorry to threadjack, but thought it was on topic....