Mac little newbee: how to transfer images from my Canon Powershot to my Macbook?

Reaction score
Hi! I'm totally new to a mac, also new to this forum. Happy to get to know you guys! :headphone

I've got a question: Later when I used my PC with WinXP, once I connected the camera to the PC it always transfered the images automatically (with Photo wizard). But now with my Mac when I connect them two, nothing happens. Mine is a Canon Powershot A80, its installation disks are all for PC so I don't know if it needs a special program to transfer images, or any other way? Please help! Thankyou!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
You can get the Mac software at Canon's website here.

Also, iPhoto will be able to transfer them. Connect the cam, and open iPhoto.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
As an alternative, you can get a card reader, plug that into your Mac, and then simply place your camera's memory card into it. You can then copy the images off the card and onto your Mac. This is what I do with my Canon and with my Casio as well.

Card readers are inexpensive ($10 - $20) and available from places like Best Buy, Circuit City and so on. They generally require no additional softare installation. When you plug your card in, it will show up as a disk on your desktop.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
As an alternative, you can get a card reader, plug that into your Mac, and then simply place your camera's memory card into it. You can then copy the images off the card and onto your Mac. This is what I do with my Canon and with my Casio as well.

I do this also, and it will save on the batteries in your camera.

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
I do this also, and it will save on the batteries in your camera.

ditto.

got this sandisk one at bby recently for about 14 bucks:

6785393_sa.jpg

Reaction score