• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

American English Question "Brown/green Money" ????

???

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.0Ghz
OK, I am an English teacher in Japan and I have a very good student. Her English is near perfect as she works for a Canadian company in Tokyo. Anyway, she is an accountant and her boss it from Texas, he keeps talking about "brown money" and "green money". I have a business degree and have no idea what this means. She has asked me to find out for here. I can make an educated guess that it means either.

1) money made legal and brown money is from the grey market.

or

2)Brown money is money made from activities that have an adverse effect on the environment and green money has a positive effects, but these are just guesses.

Any ideas? It is an accounting American English term.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.0GHz White, 512MB RAM, 60GB HDD
Well, Google certainly draws a blank. The only even remotely plausible answer I could find is the physical colour of coins (brown) and notes (green). Other than that, I have no idea :)

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
doing a little googling i found this: