how to get wireless tv on my macbook pro

Reaction score
Hi, i am sorry if this sounds dumb, but i am kind of new to this.
anyway, I am buying a macbook pro this week and i am gathering resources for what i want it to do.
The one thing that i want it to do that is driving me to headaches is wireless cable. I am thinking about getting the elgato eyetv hybrid, but all of my understanding is...you have to plug your cable into the laptop. Now, that seems a setback to me because i want to be able to take my laptop into other rooms...outside..you know all those places my laptop should allow me to go. so, my question is this.
How can i get wireless cable to go through my laptop?
I dont need to be able to get reception miles away necessarily (although that would be awesome) but i would think at least a few hundred feet or so would be nice!!
does anyone know what kind of equipment i would need to accomplish this? what the procedure would be? any advice?
bear in mind, i am stariting from basic scratch now, but i do have some money to buy things...
i am just not certain of what i actually need...please help!
Jeeb-:yinyang:

Reaction score
I watch standard cable TV on my MacBook Pro wirelessly, but I have a MythTV setup.

If you have an old(er) PC and a wireless G network, some knowledge of Linux/Unix and/or a lot of time on your hands, this would an good alternative. Especially if you don't have digital cable.

Check out:
http://www.mythtv.org/

The front end I'm running on OSX:
http://collectivity.goof.com/articles/2006/09/18/mythfrontend-0-20-mac-os-x-intel

Edit: I guess I should warn you: I'm fairly experienced Linux user, and it took me probably around 15 hours total to get my setup working the way I wanted it (from a bare metal install). Your mileage may vary.

OP
J
Reaction score
Thanks man!
I will look through it and hopefully my dull brain will be able to grasp it in all of it beauty...