Buying help

M

mowgli

Dear All, I need help.

I am a 25 year old British guy living in Japan and I want to buy a computer. I haven't owned a computer for donkey's years but I have been using Windows PCs for the last six or seven years at school, uni and work to write reports and browse the internet. Educated friends have made reasonable arguments as to why I should stick to my affiliation with Windows when I spend all my hard earned pennies on a computer as I am about to do. Nevertheless, I have a strange and perhaps irrational urge to join your clan. Hence I am here asking you to help me end my dilemna.

My needs are simple. Primarily, I want to get access to the web that I can control. I want to be able to download movies and TV content that isn't readily available in Japan. Once I've downloaded it, I want to be able to store or record it so that I can watch it again. This goes the same for music files that I can share with my friends and a get on to CD/MD. Photos too. Editing and sending them I mean. My future also has medeveloping my own website via very user friendly software. There must and shall be "civilisation"-esque games too. Portability is important, but not the everyday kind. I'm likely to move country in the next year so some kind of worldwide support is a must. I don't mind spending cash but I'd be upset if I spent $3000 toady and it was old hat in 6 months time (read: I've read the rumors about G5Powerbooks).

I'll be very interested to hear what you have to say...

Mowgli.xx

OP
S

StarManta

mowgli said: