'Hidden' jpegs when burning a cd in OSX

B

bognor_regis

Hi

I'm a newbie to the forum, so please forgive me if this question has been asked before.

I'm using Photoshop CS2, and doing the same tasks on both a Powerbook (OSX) and on a PC (Windows XP).

A simple task: I am saving jpegs into a folder, inserting a blank cd, dragging the jpegs to the cd folder, then clicking Burn. (No special cd burning software; I don't see the need, as both OSX and XP do just fine). The result is a photo cd which can be viewed on any Mac, any PC, or any DVD player with jpeg capabilities.

So what is the problem? Well, none that I was aware of, until I bought a new all-singing all-dancing DVD player/recorder. Let's say I put 10 jpegs onto a cd. Mac Finder shows 10 files. Windows Explorer shows 10 files. All my old DVD players show 10 files. The new DVD player shows 20 files! Each filename is duplicated, and the first of each pair shows "unsupported file format" instead of the image.

No other device would show these 'hidden' files, until I bought a Lacie external hard drive. If I make a cd image by draging the 10 jpegs from the Mac hard drive to the Lacie, the Lacie shows 20 files (both in Mac Finder and Windows Explorer). The filenames arent exactly duplicated this time - the extra files are prefixed with ._ (i.e. "image1.jpg" becomes "._image1.jpg")

What is going on here? Please note that only cds burnt using OSX do this; When I burn cds in exactly the same way using XP I get the expected number of files.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5 1.8GHz, 3GB RAM; Macbook Air
Reaction score
bognor_regis said:
Hi

I'm a newbie to the forum, so please forgive me if this question has been asked before.

I'm using Photoshop CS2, and doing the same tasks on both a Powerbook (OSX) and on a PC (Windows XP).