• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Refurbished iMac?

Reaction score
Hello. Im new here, and didnt quite know where to post this so here goes. Im new to the mac world; an avid pc user longing to make the switch to the mac os. The apple store has some great deals on refurbished items, but I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there are any major risks to buying an iMac from the apple refurbished store? What can I expect upon delivery?

Thank you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.16GHz C2D, 160gb 5400rpm HD, 2GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM
IIRC they have a one year warranty on em (and you can get extended apple care)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.16 ghz. 1 gb ram. 250 GB HDD. Screamer! 2gb ipod nano. 17 in powerbook G4 1.67/1 Gb/120gb
Well if you buy a refurbished iMac usually it will come in about 2-4 pieces. The screen is usually broken with fluid dripping everywhere! The powercord will be ripped and sliced. The computer most likely is scratched to the point where there is no more to scratch off. No im Just Kidding. APPLE REFURBISHED PRODUCTS ARE USUALLY PERFECT!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.2GHz Intel i7 W/16GB Ram & 256GB SSD