Help 'Switching'

N

NashTax

Hello Everyone,

Firstly, I'm new here, just wanted to introduce myself before I go on with my questions. :p

Currently, I'm using a Windows based system, I've been using Windows since 1999. I started with Windows 95. I've had alot of problems with my computers, I spend alot trying to protect it but yetit still get infected. I would like to switch from a Windows based system to a Macintosh based system. I'm not sure why though, this is why I'm here, can you please tell me the good points of the Macintosh and the bad points. I play alot of computer games too so this is the only problem thats stoping my ordering a Mac.

If this topic is in the wrong place, I'm sorry.

- NashTax :headphone

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac G5
Well the main reason I switched to a Mac was because I was taking a movie class at the college and I liked the software on it. I purchased my first Mac (iMac G5) with the intent to use it solely as a music, audio, and photo production tool, however the OS grew on me and I found it more secure, faster, cleaner, and quite frankly, a LOT nicer. I however, still own a gaming PC that I continue to put a lot of money in to keep virus-free, spyware-free, and running on par with my iMac. As tough as it is, I have to fuel my gaming addiction some how.

What you have to as yourself is:
-Do I want a Mac and I am willing to spend the money to get a new computer?
-What do I need one for?
-What will I be doing on my computer that needs or would be more convenient with a Mac?
-How will I play games? (If you get a good intel Mac, you'll be fine with Boot Camp or Parallels)
and -Am I willing to make the switch and leave XP/2K behind and come to OS X

And when you think about this and answer the questions, you'll know you are ready to switch to a better OS :)

OP
N

NashTax

Hi There,