PDA

View Full Version : Macally PHR-100AC Probs



chief99
06-16-2006, 03:49 PM
Well i decided to get the FW+USB 2.0 version of the Macally enclosure, but I am having problems with it.

I put a 160gb Hitachi Deskstar drive in it, but when I plug it in, A diologue box comes up saying the disk could not read. I opened disk utility and the drive was there, recognized as '153.4gb PI-010V2' However, when I try to format (erase) the drive, I get the error:

'Disk Erase failed with the error:

Input/output error'

Any ideas?

Badger
06-16-2006, 07:47 PM
What are the jumpers set at? They should be at master or cable select, not slave.

geekboy2000
06-16-2006, 09:15 PM
Well i decided to get the FW+USB 2.0 version of the Macally enclosure, but I am having problems with it.

I put a 160gb Hitachi Deskstar drive in it, but when I plug it in, A diologue box comes up saying the disk could not read. I opened disk utility and the drive was there, recognized as '153.4gb PI-010V2' However, when I try to format (erase) the drive, I get the error:

'Disk Erase failed with the error:

Input/output error'

Any ideas?

Same error when you connect via USB? I've seen a similar issue with certain firewire chipsets. As I understand it now, the Oxford chipset is probably the best for performance and compatibility, especially with the Intel Macs.

Mark

chief99
06-17-2006, 12:11 PM
Thanks for the replys guys.

The same error happens via USB aswell, so it cannot be the firewire.

I have the jumpers set to master, but I will try CS when I get home.

coach_z
06-17-2006, 12:41 PM
jumpers should not matter in firewire drives. take it apart and make sure that your cables are all seated correctly

chief99
06-17-2006, 03:50 PM
Well the jumper settings didnt make a difference.

I checked all the connections I could see and as far as I am aware there was nothing out of the ordinary.

I just tried a different hard drive in there (which was a really old 40gb) and it worked straight away, so it must be the HDD I was using.

Thanks for all your help though!

geekboy2000
06-17-2006, 03:54 PM
FWIW, the oldest drive I have that still functions (though it now sits on a shelf) is a 6GB IBM DeskStar. Unfortunately though, I found that as time went on, they seemed to steadily downhill. Now (in order of my preference), I use only Seagate, Western Digital and Samsung drives. Glad to hear you got it sorted out.

Mark

chief99
06-17-2006, 06:14 PM
Well if i decide to buy a new HDD to go in, which drive would you reccomend?

Im looking for around the 100-200gb zone, depending on price.
Thanks alot guys!