PDA

View Full Version : Black Mac



zal
06-11-2006, 05:17 AM
Hi guys, just got my new Mac Book. I have the new 2. ghz black model. First question: i'm having trouble getting alot of software to work. is there a place to get DuoCore copatible software?

yogi
06-11-2006, 06:40 AM
What software is not working?

All or almost all Mac software will run on the core duo, thanks to Rosetta emulation.

And most frequently used apps are already universal (i.e. "DuoCore copatible").

So what's the troublemaker?

McNewbie
06-11-2006, 12:24 PM
The preinstalled apps should run perfectly. Maybe try a reinstall and a clean install, maybe some of the bloatware is taking too much RAM making your system run slower.

baggss
06-11-2006, 12:46 PM
Hi guys, just got my new Mac Book. I have the new 2. ghz black model. First question: i'm having trouble getting alot of software to work. is there a place to get DuoCore copatible software?

By DuoCore software, do you mean Universal Binaries that will work on a Mac with a PPC or an Intel Chip? What software are you having trouble with and is it a Mac version of that software?

to_tough_to_die
06-11-2006, 01:13 PM
Have you installed all of the updates?

iWonder
06-11-2006, 01:36 PM
Maybe hes trying to install windows applications?

coach_z
06-11-2006, 01:49 PM
The preinstalled apps should run perfectly. Maybe try a reinstall and a clean install, maybe some of the bloatware is taking too much RAM making your system run slower.

worst recomendation ever, reinstalling is the last step you ever need to take in osx. there is no real 'bloatware' on your computer either.

just let us know what you are trying to install by telling us more information next time you create a new thread

zal
06-11-2006, 02:37 PM
its none of the software that came bundled with it, and its NOT windows software, i've been using macs for all my life, this is just the first one i've owned. i can't get AOL instant messenger to install, there were some other apps, but i forgot what they were. ayways i just realized i can get the tabbed feature on my iChat client, so i won't be switching. thanks for the help

dtravis7
06-11-2006, 02:47 PM
On the AIM front, try iChat. I much prefer it to AIM's client. If you don't like that, try Adium.

Opps, just caught the end of your message. iChat is very nice. I use it for all my AIM friends. I use Adium for everything else.

caveatipss
06-11-2006, 02:58 PM
Once you go Mac, you never go back.

techster82
06-11-2006, 03:04 PM
AOL and AIM are not running correctly on Intel macs at the moment. They have yet to universal and do not run correctly under Rosetta. iChat is a good client but Adium is the program that most of us prefer.

Mattlike
06-11-2006, 03:07 PM
On the AIM front, try iChat. I much prefer it to AIM's client. If you don't like that, try Adium.

Opps, just caught the end of your message. iChat is very nice. I use it for all my AIM friends. I use Adium for everything else.

I second Adium. I use it in lieu of iChat because I also use Yahoo Messenger which I do not believe iChat supports.

slyydrr
06-11-2006, 08:22 PM
I second Adium. I use it in lieu of iChat because I also use Yahoo Messenger which I do not believe iChat supports.
You can use Yahoo, but it's just a really round-about way. You have to connect up to a Jabber server that has Yahoo support, or something like that. In any case, Adium simplifies everything, and is aesthetically customizable too. I third it :)

Mattlike
06-11-2006, 09:18 PM
You can use Yahoo, but it's just a really round-about way. You have to connect up to a Jabber server that has Yahoo support, or something like that. In any case, Adium simplifies everything, and is aesthetically customizable too. I third it :)
Haha thanks, I was unaware of this. But like you said, Adium simplifies things. :black: