PDA

View Full Version : Safari loads but immediately crashes on my mac



shesoutrunning
12-04-2017, 08:22 AM
I can't get Safari to stay open. Sometimes it doesn't load at all, sometimes it loads but then crashes when you try to use it. I have searched for advice and do not have a library/preferences/com.apple.Safari.plist file. i have also moved third party add-on folders to the trash and tried again but still it doesn't work so i have put them back. I'm using OS X Yosemite 10.10.5

toMACsh
12-04-2017, 01:51 PM
Yes, you do have that file. Safari creates it the first time it is opened. It is impossible to not have that file except for the time between when you intentionally delete it and reopen Safari. You're probably not looking in the correct Library folder.

Hold down Option and click the Go Menu. Then select Library there.

shesoutrunning
12-05-2017, 06:33 AM
Yes, you do have that file. Safari creates it the first time it is opened. It is impossible to not have that file except for the time between when you intentionally delete it and reopen Safari. You're probably not looking in the correct Library folder.

Hold down Option and click the Go Menu. Then select Library there.

OK, I tried that and followed your instructions but could not find that file despite searching for it in the search box therefore it's not in the library?

nickyr
12-05-2017, 07:16 AM
did you also look for it manually? the spotlight search, I've found, isn't too reliable at actually finding stuff!

in my >library > preferences folder, it's about 2/3 of the way down the list along with around 10-12 other safari plist files / folders.

Are you trying to open Safari from the icon in your dock? Just asking as the photos icon in my dock somehow became corrupted and photos wouldn't open from it. Try opening Safari by double clicking on it in the list of Applications in Finder - see if that changes anything???

toMACsh
12-05-2017, 01:49 PM
OK, I tried that and followed your instructions but could not find that file despite searching for it in the search box therefore it's not in the library?

No, it must be in the User's Library/Preferences folder. There is no possible way that it is not if you have ever opened Safari.

The procedure I gave you is the best way to access that particular Library folder, as it is hidden from the User otherwise.

IWT
12-05-2017, 02:51 PM
@shesoutrunning

I've attached some screenshots to illustrate how you get to the .plist file.

First: start with a clear Desktop

Now, hold down the Option key on your keyboard and, whilst holding this down, click on "Go" from the the top menu bar.

This is what you will see:

27518

Click on "Library"

Once in Library, scroll down to "Preferences" and then scroll down to "com.apple.Safari.plist"

As in these screenshots:

27520

27519

And there you are.

The confusion is that there are different libraries........

Please post back.

Ian

chscag
12-05-2017, 05:55 PM
I've said this many times and I guess I should quit saying it.....

Why Apple has chosen to hide the user library but yet keep the system library visible is beyond me. Much more damage to the overall system can be accomplished by accidentally removing or changing something in the system library than the user library.

I usually recommend unhiding the user library by invoking a terminal command and leave it that way:

chflags nohidden ~/library/

ferrarr
12-05-2017, 11:35 PM
Because most people do not understand the consequences of their actions.

chscag
12-06-2017, 12:50 AM
Because most people do not understand the consequences of their actions.

Not to argue the point... but as I said above more damage can occur by messing with your System Library. Why hide one and not the other?

shesoutrunning
12-06-2017, 05:03 AM
I have now found it!
what do i do next - move it to trash?

IWT
12-06-2017, 05:09 AM
I have now found it!
what do i do next - move it to trash?

Yes.

Quit out of Safari. Trash the plist file. Reopen Safari.

And keep us updated please.

Ian

shesoutrunning
12-06-2017, 05:15 AM
Quick update - i moved the com.apple.Safari.plist to the trash and tried again to load Safari from Finder. It crashed again.

MacInWin
12-06-2017, 08:29 AM
Not to argue the point... but as I said above more damage can occur by messing with your System Library. Why hide one and not the other?Charlie, I suspect it was done because more people would see the Library in their home space than would see the System Library. And by mucking about in the home Library, they could cause problems for their applications, end up calling Apple support. So Apple hid it to cut down on the calls.

The System library is at the root of the drive, a place the average user doesn't go.

shesoutrunning
12-06-2017, 12:08 PM
can anyone suggest what to do next? have tried deleting that file but Safari still crashes when you try to use it

toMACsh
12-06-2017, 01:54 PM
Maybe it's time to reinstall Yosemite. That would give you a fresh copy of Safari.

ferrarr
12-06-2017, 04:32 PM
Or, maybe try the combo update, before the full re-install?

https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1804?locale=en_US

shesoutrunning
12-06-2017, 05:20 PM
I don't know how to reinstall Yosemite or what repercussions it might have?
What if I upgraded to High Sierra - would that solve the problem?

pm-r
12-06-2017, 05:29 PM
And by mucking about in the home Library, they could cause problems for their applications, end up calling Apple support. So Apple hid it to cut down on the calls.


I read some apple official developer type thing several years ago that said THAT was exactly why they hid the users Library, to cut down on the number of support calls, and mainly due to users mucking about with their Photos Library and also their iTunes Library.

But I still agree with Charlie and have also questioned why Apple does so many things that often don't make any sense — at least not to my old curmudgeon's brain!!! :Blushing:

PS: Maybe I missed it, but I didn't notice any suggestion to use it's Reset Safari — if it'll stay open long enough to do so.




- Patrick
======

IWT
12-06-2017, 05:53 PM
I don't know how to reinstall Yosemite or what repercussions it might have?
What if I upgraded to High Sierra - would that solve the problem?

I would suggest you follow Bob's (ferrarr) advice.

The combo update simply re-downloads and installs the last and latest version of Yosemite on top of your current version. Follow his link, click on download and let it do its job.

Your data is safe. But allowing for any rare difficulty, I'm sure you already have at least a Time Machine backup and perhaps even a cloned backup, so no problem. You won't need it I'm sure but always essential to have that backup.

And upgrading to macOS High Sierra is a big jump - lots of changes. Again an up to date backup would be essential.

Your choice. I'd go the Combo route before upgrading unless you specifically want High Sierra, of course.

Ian

pm-r
12-06-2017, 09:22 PM
I'd go the Combo route before upgrading unless you specifically want High Sierra, of course.
Ian

+1. Especially as installing any OS upgrade is no guarantee it will "fix" a previous OS's non-working, possibly corrupt app. Too many installer changes to be made.




- Patrick
======

toMACsh
12-07-2017, 01:54 PM
Or, maybe try the combo update, before the full re-install?

https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1804?locale=en_US

Is it just semantics, or is there a difference at this point. (no new updates for Yosemite - likely the same version as OP has running)

pm-r
12-07-2017, 02:44 PM
Is it just semantics, or is there a difference at this point. (no new updates for Yosemite - likely the same version as OP has running)


Using the "COMBO Update" has sure fixed a lot of user's problems when things so goofy and has sure been my experience as well.

Use OS X Combo Updates to Correct Installation Problems
https://www.lifewire.com/use-os-x-combo-updates-to-correct-installation-problems-2260836

What is a combo update and how is it different than the regular update?
https://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/80657/what-is-a-combo-update-and-how-is-it-different-than-the-regular-update

As the article states, using the appropriate COMBO Update, one gets the latest/last of all included install stuff rather than doing numerous progressive updated.



- Patrick
======