PDA

View Full Version : How to move files and delete folders

Reinyrooster
08-16-2017, 03:26 PM
Sorry if I use the incorrect titles but I am new to the Mac world. I am in the process of offloading content from I drive that I backed up from my Windows PC before the switch-over. For the most part, it is working but I found that in doing so, I now have, as an example, one folder for pictures that I open to another folder for pictures that I open to the final folder containing the pictures....to many steps. I'm sure it was my doing as I downloaded the entire folder rather then just the contents.
So my question is how, and with what app, can I move the files up the chain to the first folder and clean things up.
Hope I have explain ed it in a way that makes sense.
Have only had my Mac for about a week but am loving it.

cradom
08-16-2017, 05:18 PM
So you have 3 folders, one inside another inside another right? Rename the inside most folder and drag it into your Home folder. Delete the other two. Then rename the folder left back.
Unless any of the folders are named Pictures. The outermost Pictures folder is sort of a system folder, it's part of every Home folder and has it's own icon.
In this case dig to the deepest folder and select all (command-a) and drag to the outer most folder. This might be easier in column view.

Slydude
08-16-2017, 08:22 PM
If the pictures were originally in a camera and you are going to put them on a card and back into a camera it might need the two blank folders. Otherwise, member carom's suggestion is a good one.

chscag
08-16-2017, 09:14 PM
Otherwise, member carom's suggestion is a good one.

Hey Sly: You need to tune up your voice actuated program or get rid of that LA accent. LOL

Slydude
08-16-2017, 09:23 PM
Wasn't using the voice activation I just can't type worth a lick. Autocorrect is a real pain sometimes.If I'd been a little more awake maybe I could proofread a bit better.

cradom
08-17-2017, 05:39 AM