PDA

View Full Version : Photos import question



Farmer Pug
12-15-2016, 08:56 PM
Is there a way on photos version 2.0 to determine if i am importing a photo or video. I cant remember but i think previous versions of photos or iphoto had a small icon denoting that the item was a video file. This seems to be missing on version 2.0. Can it be turned back on, or is there a setting somewhere where i can filter out the videos before importing. I use imovie for video and delete most of the videos after editing hence why i dont want to import things twice.

ferrarr
12-15-2016, 09:09 PM
Another option is to use Image Capture to import your files. You can select which files you want to import and put them where you want them.

https://support.apple.com/kb/PH17894?locale=en_US

Farmer Pug
12-16-2016, 05:03 AM
Thanks for the reply ferrarr👍

I am familiar with image capture it has its uses sometimes. However id rather use the photos program on its own. It used to work without having to switch between programs, im almost certain there used to be an icon at the import stage denoting if the file was a video.

IWT
12-16-2016, 05:30 AM
In my Photos (Version 1.5 to be sure - I'm still running El Capitan):

When I open the app - on the left of the screen is the Sidebar (if not seen then Go into View > Show Sidebar).

The Sidebar lists everything and within the list is"Videos". Click on this and all (and only) videos are shown.

This refers, of course, to pictures or videos already imported.

When you are selecting material for Import - Videos are identified with a video camera icon bottom left of the thumbnail and the length of the video in hrs, mins, secs bottom right of the thumbnail. Can be difficult to spot, but you can increase the size of the thumbnails for better clarity.

Hope that helps. I'd be really amazed if things were changed in the Sierra version because this is how they have been since the year dot.

Ian

Farmer Pug
12-18-2016, 06:03 PM
Thats it. The small video camera icon on the bottom left and the time of the video on the right. Despite zooming in and out i still dont see these. It just seems to be something i notice has went missing after a recent update.