iPhoto Advice

Reaction score
I have a six year-old MacBook Pro using OS X 10.6.8. I am a 71year-old complete amateur. There are many programmes that I don’t use, but I have mastered many of the features that I do need on a regular basis. One of my main interests is photography and I do travel a lot so, since I bought the laptop, I have downloaded thousands of photos on to my hard drive. Needless to say, it is now creaking more than I am and I need to resolve the problem as cheaply as possible.

The message I now get when I try to load anything is: “The disk containing your iPhoto library is running low on space.” I have tried removing blocks of photos to a separate hard drive but, as I understand it, this removes them from the file but does not create a lot more space for new pics. I have some of my earlier pics backed up, but I have been lazy in recent years as transferring them elsewhere seemed to be a laborious process.

Whether I should have downloaded my photos this way or not is now immaterial. What I need to know is how to resume downloading in the easiest way. I don’t want to clear all the files off my laptop and I’m afraid that a clean-up programme will do just that.

Are there any suggestions about creating more space within iPhoto (version 8.1.2), or is there any other cheap, or free, photo editing software I could download to a hard drive and continue that way? Or anything else …?

Many Thanks,
Steve

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP Retina mid 2015 15.4" 16GB 2.5 GHz OS Monterey; iPhone 12 128gb; iPad Mini 5, 64gb
Try an app to remove duplicates from your library. This is free. https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/duplicate-cleaner-for-iphoto/id586862299?mt=12

A good one, for a small charge, is Photo Sweeper.