PDA

View Full Version : What is the best method to convert Blu-ray (bluray) to DVD?



GregNYR89
09-27-2016, 07:46 PM
Hi,

I have a wedding Blu-ray disc that I want to convert to DVD so that I could give it to my relatives to watch because they don't have Blu-ray players.

What would you guys recommend I do to get this done?

What softwares would you recommend?

What softwares would you recommend for conversion to PAL so that the DVD would be viewable in Europe?

I'm currently running Os X Sierra (10.12), MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), and blu-ray external drive.

Thank you!

KevinJS
09-27-2016, 08:05 PM
Have a look at DVDFab. I've used it on Windows. It has loads of options and will probably do everything you want, including the conversion to PAL.

I don't like recommending it, because it is essentially a piracy tool. It decrypts copy protection and allows things to be copied which decent people pay for. However, as you are asking for something that will carry out a legitimate operation, I'll duck into the grey area. By the way, it's not free.

http://www.dvdfab.cn

ferrarr
09-27-2016, 08:39 PM
You could get them their own Blu-Ray player.

chscag
09-27-2016, 09:30 PM
I don't like recommending it, because it is essentially a piracy tool. It decrypts copy protection and allows things to be copied which decent people pay for. However, as you are asking for something that will carry out a legitimate operation, I'll duck into the grey area. By the way, it's not free.

Are those prices for real? No one in their right mind is going to pay what they want for that software unless those dollars are not US or Canadian.

KevinJS
09-27-2016, 09:43 PM
Are those prices for real? No one in their right mind is going to pay what they want for that software unless those dollars are not US or Canadian.

Presumably they're for real. I didn't check to see what it cost. I wouldn't buy it, and have a hard time even mentioning it because, like I said, I consider it to be a piracy tool first and foremost. There used to be a trial version that was time limited. Don't know about the current version.

chscag
09-27-2016, 10:18 PM
I have no problem with the software. It's only a piracy tool if it's used for piracy. I'm just amazed at what they're charging for their software lineup - unless those prices are in another currency!

ferrarr
09-27-2016, 10:52 PM
Handbrake and vlc work for free

GregNYR89
09-27-2016, 11:00 PM
Have a look at DVDFab. I've used it on Windows. It has loads of options and will probably do everything you want, including the conversion to PAL.

I don't like recommending it, because it is essentially a piracy tool. It decrypts copy protection and allows things to be copied which decent people pay for. However, as you are asking for something that will carry out a legitimate operation, I'll duck into the grey area. By the way, it's not free.

http://www.dvdfab.cn

Hi,

Thank you for the reply, however after downloading the latest version from the website it fails to install. I'm assuming it's not compatible with 10.12. Otherwise I have no idea why. It just says to contact the manufacturer.

25084

GregNYR89
09-27-2016, 11:02 PM
Handbrake and vlc work for free

It's my understanding that vlc is a player. I don't want my relatives watching the wedding on their computers.

Would I be able to use Handbrake to do the conversion from Blu-ray to DVD?

Thank you.

Slydude
09-27-2016, 11:22 PM
It's my understanding that vlc is a player. I don't want my relatives watching the wedding on their computers.

Would I be able to use Handbrake to do the conversion from Blu-ray to DVD?

Thank you.

VLC will also convert files from one format to another. I'm guessing that member Ferrarr was suggesting that you use either VLC or HandBrake to extract the video and convert it t a format/resolution that will be small enough to fit on a regular DVD. You could then use software such as Burn or Toast to burn the DVD to a standard DVD.

How much space does the movie take up on your Blu-ray?

GregNYR89
09-27-2016, 11:55 PM
VLC will also convert files from one format to another. I'm guessing that member Ferrarr was suggesting that you use either VLC or HandBrake to extract the video and convert it t a format/resolution that will be small enough to fit on a regular DVD. You could then use software such as Burn or Toast to burn the DVD to a standard DVD.

How much space does the movie take up on your Blu-ray?

I've just noticed that vlc also converts files, never knew that, thanks. I didn't get it back from the studio yet. Should be very soon. The total video runs close to 4 hrs, so i'm assuming it would be a full blu-ray disk (max capacity). I just want to get all the software I need for the conversion so that I would do it asap.

KevinJS
09-28-2016, 12:18 AM
I tried converting a file using VLC a few days ago. For some reason it converted the first couple of minutes and called it good. Never did figure out what went wrong.

Don't forget, we are not talking about converting a file from one type to another here, or at least not exclusively. We are also looking at the conversion from NTSC to PAL (potentially).

I'm not actually sure there is a difference these days in TV standards. PAL, as used in the UK, was 625 lines at 50Hz, and NTSC was 525 lines at 60Hz. Those are archaic standards. Maybe 1080p in the UK and US is identical? I don't know.

KevinJS
09-28-2016, 12:19 AM
I've just noticed that vlc also converts files, never knew that, thanks. I didn't get it back from the studio yet. Should be very soon. The total video runs close to 4 hrs, so i'm assuming it would be a full blu-ray disk (max capacity). I just want to get all the software I need for the conversion so that I would do it asap.


Full capacity for a single layer BluRay is 25Gb. That will require a lot of DVDs at 4.7Gb per disk. This might need a rethink.

chscag
09-28-2016, 02:24 AM
Full capacity for a single layer BluRay is 25Gb. That will require a lot of DVDs at 4.7Gb per disk. This might need a rethink.

That's an understatement Kevin. :) Even if he were to use double layer DVDs, that's going to require a lot of work and probably many ruined disks in the process. Maybe he can go back to whoever is doing the BR disk for him and instead have the video placed on double layer DVDs. It should fit on 3 disks if they use double layer and I don't think it matters what format it's in as long as it can be played thru a TV that does 1080P. However, I don't know what type of DVD player his relatives have, as that might make a difference.

KevinJS
09-28-2016, 02:35 AM
DVD player wouldn't matter too much, so long as the disk is encoded either region 0 (universal) or region 2 (UK/Europe). A region 1 DVD (North America/Japan) won't work over there.

ferrarr
09-28-2016, 07:25 AM
It's my understanding that vlc is a player. I don't want my relatives watching the wedding on their computers.

Would I be able to use Handbrake to do the conversion from Blu-ray to DVD?

Thank you.
Sorry, for Blu-Ray, you will also need MakeMKV.

https://www.macobserver.com/tmo/article/directly-rip-and-convert-bluray-disks-with-handbrake

GregNYR89
09-28-2016, 02:01 PM
Thank you guys for all the input.

I have thought about the amount of GB's a blu-ray disk takes and the amount of DVDs needed to do a copy with 100% quality. I will probably reduce the quality a bit to fit onto 4 dvds (DL), but I will decide that once I'll get the process going. I was thinking of having 1hr of 4hrs per disk.

In terms of region codes, i'm not exactly sure what I have on my blu-ray recorder. I'm out of state for a few weeks now and all my stuff is at home. Just to make sure I understand this correctly, If I burn a PAL video file with North American region code, then those disks will still NOT work, right? I would need a burner with a European region code, right? I also believe that if I would be able to change my burner's region code to 0 (universal) then they should work anywhere, right?

Assuming that my burner is for NA, is there a way I could change the region code for my burner so that I would be able to burn the disk with European region code?

Here is a list so far of software for conversion:

1. Handbrake
2. VLC
3. MakeMKV

I have Adobe Premier Pro, I was thinking of using that program to convert from NTSC to PAL as well as splitting the video to fit onto DVDs. I also have Toast to burn DVDs. At this point I guess I need a program that will rip my wedding video from the Blu-ray. I was just hoping to find a program that will be able to do everything, from ripping to burning onto DVDs.

I don't want the studio to make me PAL dvd's because they want to charge extra for each disk. Just trying to save money on something I feel I can do myself.

Again, thank you guys for all the help, any suggestion or tip is always appreciated!

KevinJS
09-28-2016, 02:25 PM
TV pictures standards are one thing, DVD region codes are another. A DVD must be region 2 to play on a European player. Your North American player is region 1. Both will play region 0 disks. These are intended to be universal.

I'm not sure whether a disk intended for the UK (PAL system) will play in France (SECAM system) or whether the TV type only matters to broadcast television. I suspect it would but I only mention this to show that we need to be clear about which tech is of interest here.

Most North American DVD players and burners are hardware locked to region 1 and cannot be changed. Elsewhere, DVD players sometimes have a software region lock that will allow the region to be changed up to 5 times, and then locks permanently at the last region set.

I'd find out from someone who knows for sure (your disk manufacturer?) what is required. I know how DVD works as far as region coding goes. The rest of my knowledge is patchy at best and entirely theoretical.

By the way, BluRay has region coding too. I believe there are 3 regions as opposed to DVDs 7. So that would need to be taken into account should you decide to supply a BD instead.

One last thought then I'll shut up. I shot a video of a wedding in my back yard using my MBP, uploaded the video to YouTube as a private video and sent the URL to anyone who wanted to watch it.

MightyGem
09-28-2016, 05:20 PM
Have a look at DVDFab.
It doesn't do Blu Ray.


Supported Formats
Input
DVD-Video disc, DVD folder, ISO image file

KevinJS
09-28-2016, 05:24 PM
It doesn't do Blu Ray.

25086

GregNYR89
09-29-2016, 01:26 PM
A new version of DVDfab 9 came out, DVDFab 9.3.1.8, that is compatible with 10.12. I just downloaded it and it installed without a problem, however when I run the program it tells me that my trial has expired, which is weird since i've never ran this program before, nor have I tried this program before.

I will try to give it another go, maybe contact dvdfab support to clean up this matter, once I get my blu-ray disk. I will also give Handbreak, VLC, and MakeMKV program a chance as well.

I will ask the studio again regarding the conversion to PAL system. If the price is right I'll get it from them, maybe just get one disk and then copy them on my own, hopefully being able to change my region code on my burner. I'm being very hopeful that it will not have a limit on how many times I may change it. It looks like the process of conversion NTSC to PAL is very complex.

I appreciate all your help guys. If you have any other suggestions and opinions then I'd love to hear them. My main concern now is the NTSC to PAL, I want to send some disks to Europe for my family to watch them. I prefer this way so they would be able to watch them on their TV as opposed to uploading it to youtube and have them watch it on their computer.

Thank you,
Greg.

KevinJS
09-29-2016, 01:44 PM
I'm prepared to bet that you will not be able to change the region code on your burner. North American DVD hardware is generally hardware locked to region 1, mainly because there would be no advantage in changing it. The original reason for region codes was to prevent movies from being made available to English speaking audiences while they were still playing in theatres, so the UK and Ireland joined Europe in region 2. From memory, Australia and NZ are region 4, to prevent early release of Japanese region 1 disks.

There used to be software available to reset the counter on players with firmware region locks, but that had to be used before the fifth, and final, change.

By the way, region switching on players capable of it was generally achieved by simply loading a disk. If the disk was from a different region and the counter hadn't reached 5, the region would switch, the counter would advance and the disk would play. So you need to be careful, unless you can locate software to reset the counter each time you change regions and prevent the counter ever reaching 5.

GregNYR89
09-29-2016, 05:29 PM
I'm prepared to bet that you will not be able to change the region code on your burner. North American DVD hardware is generally hardware locked to region 1, mainly because there would be no advantage in changing it. The original reason for region codes was to prevent movies from being made available to English speaking audiences while they were still playing in theatres, so the UK and Ireland joined Europe in region 2. From memory, Australia and NZ are region 4, to prevent early release of Japanese region 1 disks.

There used to be software available to reset the counter on players with firmware region locks, but that had to be used before the fifth, and final, change.

By the way, region switching on players capable of it was generally achieved by simply loading a disk. If the disk was from a different region and the counter hadn't reached 5, the region would switch, the counter would advance and the disk would play. So you need to be careful, unless you can locate software to reset the counter each time you change regions and prevent the counter ever reaching 5.

I've read this too, I believe on wiki.

Before changing anything to my hardware, I will contact the manufacturer and see what they say.

chscag
09-29-2016, 05:46 PM
At one time there was software available to reset the region counters back to one. It accomplished that by zapping and resetting the player firmware. However, the movie and Hollywood industry got wise to it and forced player manufacturers to prevent that from working. As a matter of fact, attempting to reset the firmware on players for US and Canada will brick the player.