iOS - ?

Reaction score
Although I've been using a Mac since 2007, minus a year when I didn't have a working one, I'm still not up on the lingo. I work off a right brain, not a left one but still need my Mac for every day stuff. So, what does iOS mean? and what does it have to do with converting a movie from a MOV status to say an AVI one?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
So, what does iOS mean? and what does it have to do with converting a movie from a MOV status to say an AVI one?

Nothing really (or directly). Converting a movie from one format to another is something usually done with an app.

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
…still need my Mac for every day stuff. So, what does iOS mean?

I don't know what Mac or OS X version you're using, but most recent one's allow you to right-click (Control-click) on a word(s) and select the "Lookup…" option that the builtin Dictionary will normally supply.

For other stuff, a google search will be your friend and it often helps to precede the work or phrase with "What is xxx" and enter what you want in place of the xxxs.

And for converting stuff etc., the OS (Operating System) may depend on whether the app (Application) used is supported or even contains the feature you want and even later "new & improved" apps may have even had some "features" that used to work removed.

I hope this helps a bit.

- Patrick
=======

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
iOS is the operating system that runs on iPhones, iPads and iPods (hence the "i" in iOS). OS X is the operating system that runs on a Mac desktop or notebook, though it will now be known as macOS for clarity.

iOS = iDevices
macOS = Macs