PDA

View Full Version : Snicker snicker...



cradom
09-15-2016, 11:04 AM
http://appleplugs.com/

Upgrade Now!!!

Raz0rEdge
09-15-2016, 11:15 AM
Haha..and the lack of iPhone 7 headphone jack is fueling talk (rumors perhaps) about the next Macbook Pro also losing its jack. Honestly, in my 3+ years of my rMBP ownership, I don't think I've ever used the headphone jack at all.

ferrarr
09-15-2016, 11:21 AM
I use my headphone very rarely also, but my monitor has the jack, which is where my speakers are plugged into.

chscag
09-15-2016, 05:18 PM
Like I said before.... Craig has too much time on his hands. :P

cradom
09-16-2016, 05:23 AM
You think it's bad now wait til I retire...

cwa107
09-16-2016, 05:15 PM
My Bose speakers plug into my MBP's jack whenever it's at my desk. Of course, with my Thunderbolt dock, it's mostly redundant, but still nice to be able to plug in a pair of headphones (or any other kind of output device) on the fly.

badshoehabit
09-17-2016, 08:17 AM
My headphones are only employed (by her) when my 12-year-old goddaughter is playing some horrible noisy game on my MBP!:Mischievous:

lclev
09-17-2016, 09:11 AM
I use my headphone jack occasionally to monitor audio when I am capturing church service. I can't have the speakers turned up as that would be a huge distraction. I guess I could go to a bluetooth set.....

Lisa

Slydude
09-17-2016, 11:57 AM
@Lisa What programs are you generally running when monitoring the audio? Sometimes when I do that I notice quite alas. Not a problem for most things but definitely a distraction if I happen to be doing something like trying to monitor audio in the chats.

lclev
09-18-2016, 10:50 AM
@Lisa What programs are you generally running when monitoring the audio? Sometimes when I do that I notice quite alas. Not a problem for most things but definitely a distraction if I happen to be doing something like trying to monitor audio in the chats.

I am capturing the service using Premiere Pro. All I monitor it for is to make sure the volume okay and that they have not accidentally muted my feed (it has happened....) I do quick checks as I am also running a switcher that changes camera feeds to the various screens through out the church.

Lisa

Slydude
09-18-2016, 11:44 AM
Thanks for the update. When I thought about it a bit I figured that might be the case.

I tried monitoring the chat volume a few times but the lags distracting if I was speaking. I now resort to checking the settings ar the begin ng and trying not to vary my position from the mic much at all during the show itself.

lclev
09-18-2016, 05:01 PM
I have not noticed any issues with volume on the chats. I only get to watch the archives as I am at work during them but they sound fine to me. I get the lag though because I have that also but since I am only doing brief checks it is not that bad.

Lisa

Slydude
09-18-2016, 07:03 PM
Thanks Lisa. I sometimes don't have time to check after the show. I usually take a recording app before the show and use the play-thru function to listen while I do a mic check. Today I thought about using the free app Line In from Rogue Amoeba to check the levels without having to launch a record a full-blown recording application. That seems to work and although having the audio in my year is a bit distracting, there really isn't a lag.

Groovetube
09-21-2016, 09:25 PM
Don't know anything of the program you're using, but the lag, or latency you hear is common to all programs, in my recording world using pro tools and logic, it's always the result of the mic signal going into your computer, running through a software, and it spits it back out to you through the headphones/monitor. It's fine if you're playing back something already recorded, you won't be aware of it, but if you're speaking/playing an instrument it's impossible to not have it drive you nuts. In recording, when I hit record I mute that part, and use the path that doesn't run through the program which causes the latency. you have to monitor through strict hardware only. Not sure if that's possible with your setup, but I have to use the headphone monitor section of the interface I use.