Recommended Anti-Virus apps ?

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to Mac and have been looking at options regarding anti-virus software. I know Macs are far less vulnerable than Windows machines but I'd still rather have an anti virus program / App.

Malwarebytes seems to be good and free. ClamXav also seems to be good (although now not free). Are there others that are very good (and pref. free) ??

Is ClamXav worth paying for ???

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
As you have been looking at options you must have discovered that the best option is not to have any. As there are no OSX viruses what do you think you would be checking for?

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
As member Sawday points out, you do not need any AV software. This subject has been discussed into the ground on these forums (try doing a search if you want) and the reasons for NOT having AV software: there are no wild viruses that affect Macs; AV software does not detect malware in most cases; AV slows your Mac; AV gives false positive readings particularly when software updates are offered by Apple - the AV thinks they are viruses! So you often have to disable your AV in order to keep up to date.

You are wise in selecting Malwarebytes and we usually advise getting the free plugins to your Browser - Ghostery and Adblock plus because they help prevent the malware and other -wares from intruding on your Mac.

Ian

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
One of these days we may need AV software on our Mac's. But not yet.:)

- Nick

p.s. Been saying this for the 15 years OS X has been around.;)
p.p.s. Malwarebytes IS definitely something useful to have!:)

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score