How to play music formatted in windows on a mac?

Reaction score
Hi

I am completely new to Mac machines having only known Windows.

I have an issue with plugging external drives into the mac - the external drive contains music and films formatted on Windows (in MP3 and avi respectively) however when I plugged in the drive and went to search for the drive in finder it found it no problem however in that short time - maybe 20 seconds, it decided to format the drive and remove all the data contained on it.

The mac is basically out of the box, plugged in, switched on and nothing else.

My questions therefore are:

1. Is there a setting that i need to make to stop it deleting and reformatting external drives or memory sticks?
2. Is this normal for the MAC to want to format the drive if it sees another operating system on it - namely windows?
3. How can I be sure if I plug even a memory stick into any of the USB ports it wont wipe that data as well?

Sorry if this sounds odd, but at present I have no confidence in plugging anything in to the MAC if there is the remotest chance that it will be wiped or reformatted as I cannot afford to lose any more data.

Any help on this matter would be most appreciated.

Thanks

C

chas_m

Uh, no, this didn't happen as you describe it.

When plugging in a new drive, a dialog box will appear asking you if you want to use it for Time Machine (a backup system). IF YOU SAY YES, *then* it will format and prepare it as a Mac-formatted drive. Otherwise it will simply mount the drive.

Also, Macs do not do anything when taken "out of the box, plugged in, switched on and nothing else" other than as you what language you prefer as a precursor to setting the machine up and creating the user account.

So either you're talking about a Mac that has been previous set up by someone else, and we have no idea how they've set up their machine and you'll need to go ask them, OR you've left out tonnes of crucial detail.

Care to try again?

M

MacInWin