Processor choice? / Home Studio? Running 80 tracks on Logic Pro X

Reaction score
I am currently in the process of building a home studio, I am now at the point where I am looking for a desktop mac.

I'm a composer and I use Logic Pro X running about 80-90 tracks.
The system needs to be able to handle that.

I'm not sure where to start, I don't really care about the graphics or the benefits of something that I will not be using.

I just need Logic Pro X to run smoothly.

Processor choice? Mac Pro's?

My budget is pretty low as I am just starting out.

Between 500-700 hundred.

My equipment so far.

Apogee Duet 2
Monitors
6TB External Hard Drive (Sample Libraries)
Roland Controller

I have also been looking into Mac Pro's not the new one but the big silver one.. sorry for that. haha.
But is intel xeon fast?? I'm sorry I am completely useless with this stuff.

Apple Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 16 GB RAM
"WOULD THIS WORK" To run Logic Pro X ;)

Please help!

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
No.

Logic Pro X requires OS X 10.9.5 minimum - link.

A Mac Pro 1,1 highest version of OS X it can run is 10.7.5 - link.

I don't use any of that software, but I would guess you would need a 2012 Mac Pro (with as many processors as you can get) or newer and a minimum 32 GB RAM.

C

chas_m

If you're saying that the Mac Pro 1,1 you're looking at has been hacked to run Mavericks, that will certainly break at some point, and probably when you least want it to.

I'd suggest rejigging the budget to stretch a bit farther so you can get a more recent Mac Pro. I second Tom's suggestions.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
You changed the computer in your original post while I was typing out my response.