What do you use? Software to record from mic & Skype simultaneously

Reaction score
Hi, all,

I've been podcasting for nearly 10 years and for much of that time I've been using Ambrosia software's WireTap Pro. However, with the latest OS X upgrade, WireTap Pro no longer functions correctly, and Ambrosia no longer supports it.

So I'm looking for a new application that will record from my mic and Skype simultaneously, and I want to have the two feeds in separate audio tracks in the resulting file. (WTP could make separate tracks, but I had to turn down the volume on one track, save, export, then switch so that only the other track could be heard, save, export again. Then pull both tracks into Audacity to edit. Cumbersome.)

Preferably something that costs less than $50.

Thanks

C

chas_m

Skype Call Recorder will do this (you on one track, the other person on the other track).

I use Audio Hijack to do this as well, but before that I would use QuickTime to record a "clean" track of just me, and leave the Skype conversation as it was (all voices). The participants would send me similar "clean" recordings in case we talked over each other or some other problem with the "group" call that needed to be fixed in editing.

OP
E
Reaction score
Thanks. I'm finding a number of different products that call themselves "Skype recorder" or something similar. Do you mean the one from Ecamm? Tried it just now, but it was a) saving files as .mov and b) I couldn't identify a way to get the Mac audio and my mic input in separate channels.

C

chas_m

I was referring to the Ecamm product; shoot them an email and I'm sure they'll explain it (it's been too long since I used it last, don't remember).

OP
E
Reaction score
I was referring to the Ecamm product; shoot them an email and I'm sure they'll explain it (it's been too long since I used it last, don't remember).