PDA

View Full Version : Speakers for musician

Dazzcoll
10-14-2015, 01:44 AM
I have a iMac late 2013 and have started using garageband ect to record and also play rocksmith what are some good speakers or should I get speakers or monitors which type ect thanks darren

Lifeisabeach
10-16-2015, 09:16 AM
I have a iMac late 2013 and have started using garageband ect to record and also play rocksmith what are some good speakers or should I get speakers or monitors which type ect thanks darren

I've always been very happy with the Harman Kardon Soundsticks, but I'm no musician. One review I just read (http://www.audioreview.com/reviews/harman-kardon-soundsticks-iii-2-1-channel-editorial-review) discussed a concern with sound quality that had struck me as a possible issue... "Given those 4 little 1-inch tweeters in each stick are being asked to produce sound they just are just not very good at physically reproducing...". I always thought that having an array of drivers all the same size would be far from ideal.

So... if you want more accurate sound, it may be best to look for a speaker set that has a more typical variety of driver sizes. Typical desktop computer speakers "probably" aren't going to cut it because they are designed for limited space. Finding reviews that are useful may be difficult... most computer-oriented websites likely are lacking in staff that are mentally geared to considering what a musician may value. I'll post links to a couple articles that may be of help. I'm loathe to link to PCMag in particular, but it's something. Wirecutter puts a lot of thought into their reviews, though I really frown on how they label their choices as "This one is the best."

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2410691,00.asp
http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/best-computer-speakers/
http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/best-computer-speakers/

If you find a set that looks promising, cross-check with a site like AudioReview.com to see if they have tested it.