The startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition

Reaction score
Hi, im newbie here. i want ask some questions, i try to install windows 8 to my MBA early 2015 i follow the instruction and then when i already in selection partition disk on windows there is some error message "We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one" i try to fix the problem and i choose format -> delete -> new but nothing happened. so i decide to start with my yosemite and try to delete the partition. when i open bootcamp assistant it can't be delete and show error message "The startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition the start up disk must be formatted as a single Mac OS extended (journaled) volume or already partitioned by bootcamp assistant for installing windows ". can someone help to fix the problem ? Sorry for my bad english

MacBook Air Early 2015, OS X Yosemite (10.10.4)

Screen Shot 2015-08-01 at 10.49.18 AM.png

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
It sounds like the disk drive is a bit fragmented or an extra partition has been inadvertently drive looks like the one in the picture. Have a look at these directions from Apple. Be very careful not to delete the OS X partition.

OP
P
Reaction score
i already follow the direction from apple, but i can't remove the partition (blue highlight) 39.51 free space but there is no option to remove (-). when i try to access bootcamp assistant, the mesaage still same. whether there is another way to solved this problem ? :(

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 10.03.39 PM.png

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey