PDA

View Full Version : Firewire interface or USB 3.0?



BlackJack325
07-25-2015, 07:39 PM
Hello everyone, i've been out of the loop for a while. I recently upgraded my 2010 17" MBP to a brand new (2015) 15" MBP i7 512gb

I love this new Mac, handles my go pro videos so much better.

But I want to get back into Recording music and I have a Presonus Firewire FireStudio Mobile (the small one) which my old Mac couldnt handle too well. I experienced a lot of latency.

As you all know, the new MBP doesnt have a Firewire input anymore. I can buy a OWC Thunderbolt 2 which is about $250 US. I am wondering if I should spend the Money on the Dock or just buy a USB 3.0 Audio Interface? I doubt a new similar audio interface will be much more expensive than the Dock.

So, Which is better? Firewire (plugged into a dock) or USB 3.0 straight into my Mac?

Oh and I am going to be using Studio One Professional 2

BlackJack325
07-25-2015, 07:51 PM
So I was a bit uninformed. Appparently there arent many USB 3.0 Audio Interfaces.

Still, your suggestions would be greatly appreciated

harryb2448
07-25-2015, 07:58 PM
1. Thunderbolt.

2. FW800

3. USB3

Have a read of this from Appel Discussions:-


https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4830325

BlackJack325
07-25-2015, 08:09 PM
^ Im looking it over,

The specs on my Firestudio Mobile is Firewire 400

Also, it looks like theyre talking about Video editing. Is all this the same for Audio?

BlackJack325
07-25-2015, 08:28 PM
Heres the link to the Firewire Studio Mobile

PreSonus | FireStudio Mobile - Techspecs (http://www.presonus.com/products/FireStudio-Mobile/techspecs)

I've had it for a couple of years but didnt use it much.

chas_m
07-26-2015, 01:39 AM
I would think a Firewire to Thunderbolt adapter should suit your needs, but this isn't my area of expertise. You might want to ask the makers about it.

BlackJack325
07-26-2015, 01:30 PM
Yea, I just ordered the thunderbolt to firewire adapter. Some of the reviews using the adapter is that they have trouble powering the device from that particular port.

I'm going to have to find a power cord for that Interface.