PDA

View Full Version : FCPX Titles not Rendering



mrjoshyman
06-23-2015, 07:54 PM
I haven't used my FCP in about 6 weeks, the main library I use is on an external HD. So when I opened up the library today none of my title are showing up. They all have the orange render bar yet there is no rendering going on. When I move the cursor over the title in the bottom it just says "loading (insert name of title)". When i try to delete the title and add a new title the same thing appears to happen making me think it's not my library but an issue with the FCP software or something.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

lclev
06-23-2015, 08:20 PM
You say your main library is on an external HD, is it mounted and is it working? It sounds like FCP is hunting for the files - "loading" indicates this to me. If deleting and adding a new title does not fix it, I still wonder if the external is at fault because that is where the templates are - in the library.

Just wondering.

Lisa

mrjoshyman
06-23-2015, 10:55 PM
You say your main library is on an external HD, is it mounted and is it working? It sounds like FCP is hunting for the files - "loading" indicates this to me. If deleting and adding a new title does not fix it, I still wonder if the external is at fault because that is where the templates are - in the library.

Just wondering.

Lisa

all of the actual video footage loads just fine, the issue lies solely in the titles which to me makes me think there is some sort of glitch in the application itself for some reason

lclev
06-24-2015, 06:01 PM
What version of FCP are you running and on what model mac and what version of OS X?

You could try trashing your preference files. This usually fixes a lot of issues but it sets everything back to factory default settings.

For Final Cut Pro X to delete preferences:

1. Quit FCP - it can not be running.
2. Make sure to empty the trash can when you are done to make sure they are actually deleted.
3. Press and hold the Option + Cmd keys while launching FCP X from the Dock.
- a dialog box will appear asking if you want to delete preferences.
- click Delete Preferences and poof they are gone.

Here is a link (https://larryjordan.com/articles/improving-fcp-x-performance/) with more information.

Lisa

mrjoshyman
06-24-2015, 07:38 PM
problem solved with resetting the preferences. thanks all!