PDA

View Full Version : How to create app demo on iPad?



WeatherMate
03-31-2015, 04:52 AM
Hey guys!!! Can any one let me know how to make a demo video of an app using iPad? How can I record my iOS screen???

bobtomay
03-31-2015, 06:21 AM
Connect it to your Mac and use Quicktime to record the iPad screen.

WeatherMate
04-01-2015, 05:39 AM
Connect it to your Mac and use Quicktime to record the iPad screen.

Thanks....but it doesn't seem to be working!!! Something seems off!!! Any ideas?????

TattooedMac
04-01-2015, 06:06 AM
If you are willing to pay a few $$, then all the Dev's I know, use the professional ScreenFlow 5 (http://telestreamblog.telestream.net/2014/11/recording-ios-device-screenflow-5/) . . . Works really well, with cool features, like touch callouts that mimic finger gestures !!
Look around, as it could pop up in a Bundle somewhere, because I got it not long ago, for $39, with 6 other Apps. It was cheaper than upgrading from ScreenFlow 4.

Slydude
04-01-2015, 12:03 PM
Thanks....but it doesn't seem to be working!!! Something seems off!!! Any ideas?????

We'll ned more specific information to be of any help. What OS are you running on both the computer and device.? What exactly happens when you try.

Here's a description of the recording tip (http://ioshacker.com/how-to/use-quicktime-record-screen-iphone-ipad-ipod-touch-running-ios-8) Bobtomay mentioned. It requires Yosemite and IOS 8.

WeatherMate
04-02-2015, 02:55 AM
We'll ned more specific information to be of any help. What OS are you running on both the computer and device.? What exactly happens when you try.

Here's a description of the recording tip (http://ioshacker.com/how-to/use-quicktime-record-screen-iphone-ipad-ipod-touch-running-ios-8) Bobtomay mentioned. It requires Yosemite and IOS 8.

Thanks a millions Slydude!!! Just updated my Mac to OS X Yosemite and the screen recording worked like a charm!!! But that's just the one part that I got right!!! Caz I am also looking to record my voice-over via mic but it seems Quicktime would either capture iOS audio or mic audio....not both simultaneously!!!

Slydude
04-02-2015, 02:59 AM
Glad that sorted things out. I think that is the method Bobtomay was getting at in post number two above. When I read his post I went searching for how to do it. I'd never heard of that little trick.

WeatherMate
04-02-2015, 03:02 AM
If you are willing to pay a few $$, then all the Dev's I know, use the professional ScreenFlow 5 (http://telestreamblog.telestream.net/2014/11/recording-ios-device-screenflow-5/) . . . Works really well, with cool features, like touch callouts that mimic finger gestures !!
Look around, as it could pop up in a Bundle somewhere, because I got it not long ago, for $39, with 6 other Apps. It was cheaper than upgrading from ScreenFlow 4.

Can it record both my own voice via mic and the iOS audio simultaneously???

chas_m
04-02-2015, 03:06 AM
Can it record both my own voice via mic and the iOS audio simultaneously???

Not in QuickTime, but actually that's a good thing.

Make the video, and have it use the iOS audio. Then throw the video into iMovie or some other video editor, and overdub your SCRIPTED narration in iMovie to both avoid walking over the iOS audio *and* to sound smooth and professional and not like you're winging it as you go.

WeatherMate
04-03-2015, 03:25 AM
Not in QuickTime, but actually that's a good thing.

Make the video, and have it use the iOS audio. Then throw the video into iMovie or some other video editor, and overdub your SCRIPTED narration in iMovie to both avoid walking over the iOS audio *and* to sound smooth and professional and not like you're winging it as you go.

Yeah that seems to be the way to go. Thanks for your help though :)