• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

How can i cut myself off the internet

Reaction score
Hello all

I need a way to stop myself using the internet during the day.

I am a student and have the next 2 months to write a dissertation and revise for some pretty tough exams, both studying at home, but i can't stop playing on the internet.

Is there anyway i can limit my internet usage between 9-5 to a selected number of sites (research). I know some routers block sites totally but that's overkill for my needs.

I'd really appreciate any solutions to this as i'm gonna fail otherwise.

Thanks
M

K

Kokopelli

I don't mean to be sarcastic but discipline is your best bet. Anything you do to restrict access you can most likely undo.

The only way I can think of would be to restrict at the router level and have someone else configure the password so you can not change it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, 4x256 Vid, 30''cinema display
I can block you from here for a month or two if you want :biohazard

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G5 Dual 2GHz (June 2004), 2.5GB, Airport, black 5G iPod 30GB, white MacBook 2.0 2GB
I'd go with Kokopelli's advice, try some discipline, even if it's hard. :cool: