PDA

View Full Version : Record video from Tivo to retina Macbook Pro



stupid48
02-22-2015, 09:33 PM
Hi there,

My friend was on tv a few times and I would like to record the segments from the tivo to my macbook pro so I can encode them. I have a late 2013 retina. I know that the hdmi port is output only so I guess that leaves the thunderbird port. Can I capture directly from the thunderbird port or do I need an external encoder. I'm not looking for super HD since the source is not even 1080p anyways. If anyone can recommend a solution, I'd appreciate it...

Thanks, Chris

Slydude
02-22-2015, 11:45 PM
You might want to take a look at Using cTivo to Take TiVo Shows on the Road (http://katiefloyd.me/blog/using-ctivo-to-take-tivo-shows-on-the-road)

Here's a link to the cTiVO program (https://github.com/dscottbuch/cTiVo/releases/download/v2.3.1.468/cTiVo_2.3.1_468.zip) The programs I used to use seem to no longer be supported. I have not tried this program yet though it is supposed to work well.

There is also a component of Toast Titanium Pro that deals with TiVo transfer if you have Toast.

There used to be a way to directly transfer files using a web browser though I have not used it in some time. Might still be able to help with that if need be though I have older gear so I can't test it against some of the new gear.

In either case you will need to know the Media Access number for the TiVO.

stupid48
02-23-2015, 02:09 AM
Thanks..cTivo seems like the perfect way to go. Much appreciated...

Slydude
02-23-2015, 11:57 AM
I had a friend ask me how to do the same thing recently with one of the new TiVo boxes. Haven't tried this program yet but I guess I'll give it a try soon.

There are a number of transfer methods out there with varying degrees of success. From what I've read if the program being transferred is copy protected the odds of success go way down.

If you have access to a PC TiVo Desktop (https://www.tivo.com/my-account/how-to/transfer-shows-your-pc) will do the job but they stopped supporting a Mac version long ago.

ankhseeker
02-23-2015, 12:09 PM
I have an XL4 (newer, one before the romio) and it works great. cTivo has other nice options built in too!

Slydude
02-23-2015, 12:43 PM
That's good to know. It took me a while to find that download link last night.

For anyone reading this thread in the future the TiVoCommunity (http://www.tivocommunity.com/home/) forum has a wealth of information about all things TiVo. There is good Mac-related info there but it can be a bit tricky to find at times.