PDA

View Full Version : Apple in court over iTunes.

dtravis7
12-03-2014, 06:29 PM
Thought this was an interesting read. Wonder how it will turn out?

Apple on trial: Were iTunes updates really an anti-consumer scheme? | Ars Technica (http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2014/12/apple-on-trial-were-itunes-updates-really-an-anti-consumer-scheme/)

chscag
12-03-2014, 10:48 PM
I don't like DRM, but in this instance I don't see that Apple had any choice but to implement it in such a way as to protect the copyright holders and themselves. The lawsuit in my opinion has no merit. But since I'm not a lawyer....... ;P

chas_m
12-04-2014, 01:14 AM
I'm inclined to agree that the case has little or no merit. What bugs me about this is that Real is pretending that Apple deliberately excluded them, when in fact the iPod could *always* play non-DRM'd music files in standard formats (WAV, AIFF, MP3). So all they ever had to do was sell non-DRM music and it would have worked fine on any iPod. But of course they didn't because they'd agreed to sell DRM'd music to appease the record companies who license the stuff ... exactly the same as Apple.

Hopefully the judge isn't named Cote and thus will be able to see and understand what actually happened and rule fairly.

Quietone
12-11-2014, 07:36 PM
I'm inclined to agree that the case has little or no merit. What bugs me about this is that Real is pretending that Apple deliberately excluded them, when in fact the iPod could *always* play non-DRM'd music files in standard formats (WAV, AIFF, MP3). So all they ever had to do was sell non-DRM music and it would have worked fine on any iPod. But of course they didn't because they'd agreed to sell DRM'd music to appease the record companies who license the stuff ... exactly the same as Apple.

Hopefully the judge isn't named Cote and thus will be able to see and understand what actually happened and rule fairly.